Asia Alliance Bank in Uzbekistan: account and card for foreigners

A private bank that publishes tariffs and a leaflet for non-residents. The account and card are arranged in person with a passport, a PINFL and proof of stay.

Updated · Читать на русском

In short: Suits those who are staying in Uzbekistan for weeks or longer and can visit a branch with a PINFL and a registration certificate. The main limit is that the account cannot be opened remotely.

Terms for non-residents

Non-residents
Limited
Remote account opening
No
Visa / Mastercard
Yes
Russian-language support
Yes
Owner
Asia Alliance Group 77.3%, UK-based Gor Investment 9.9% (data as of May 2024)
Founded
2009
License
Central Bank of Uzbekistan license No. 79 of 25 December 2021
Moody's rating
B1, stable outlook (September 2026)
Non-resident tariffs
In force since 10 March 2026, published as a PDF on the bank's website
Issue of the main non-resident card
UZS 200,000 including VAT
Cash withdrawal at other banks' ATMs
2%, excluding the issuing bank's fee
App
Alliance Pay (iOS, Android, AppGallery), available in Russian

Pros

  • Tariffs and the non-resident leaflet are public, so you can learn the cost before you travel
  • Annual maintenance of Classic, Gold and Platinum cards is free for non-residents
  • Website and Alliance Pay app available in Russian; Uzcard-UnionPay cards are offered
  • Virtual Visa and Mastercard cards are issued free of charge and without a security deposit

Cons and limits

  • The account and card are arranged in person only; a PINFL and proof of stay are required
  • Issuance of Visa Classic to non-residents has been suspended since 3 February 2025
  • The main card costs UZS 200,000 including VAT, plus a security deposit on the account
  • Cash withdrawals at other banks' ATMs cost 2% of the amount

## About the bank

Asia Alliance Bank has operated since 2009 under Central Bank license No. 79, in the edition of 25 December 2021. As of May 2024 it was owned by Asia Alliance Group (77.3%) and the UK-based Gor Investment (9.9%). In October 2025 the bank rebranded and grouped its services into the Alliance ecosystem: Alliance Pay, Business, E-Com, Academy and Leasing. Moody's rates the bank B1 with a stable outlook (September 2026), and its net profit for the first half of 2026 was UZS 240.2 billion.

## Account for non-residents

The bank has no separate rules for Russians; the non-resident terms apply. You need a passport, an application, proof of stay and a PINFL (personal identification number). For cards the bank asks for a temporary registration certificate. Documents are presented in person, and the first account cannot be opened remotely. Additional accounts are simpler: if you already have an account, you can open others remotely under a Central Bank rule in force since 12 November 2025.

## Cards and payments

For non-residents the bank issues international Visa and Mastercard cards in dollars and euros, valid for three years. It also offers virtual cards and Uzcard-UnionPay in soums. Mir cards do not work in Uzbekistan, and the bank does not serve them. The bank does not state SBP (Faster Payments System) connection from Russia; to send money from Russia, use an Uzcard or Humo card number.

The Alliance Pay app is available on the App Store, Google Play and AppGallery, with Visa Direct and SWIFT transfers, payments and metal accounts. Since 22 April 2026 apps match the phone number against the cardholder's PINFL.

## Tariffs and limits

Non-resident tariffs have been in force since 10 March 2026. The main card costs UZS 200,000 including VAT. Annual maintenance and the security deposit depend on the card:

| Card | Annual maintenance | Security deposit |
|---|---|---|
| Classic, Gold, Standard | free | USD or EUR 10 |
| Platinum | free | USD 20 |
| Visa Signature | USD 35 | USD 50 |
| Visa Infinite | USD 50 | USD 150 |
| Mastercard World Elite | USD 50 | USD 50 |

Issuance of Visa Classic to non-residents has been suspended since 3 February 2025. Cash withdrawals at other banks' ATMs cost 2%, excluding the issuing bank's fee.

## Who it suits

  • Those who live in or spend several weeks in Uzbekistan and can visit a branch with a PINFL.
  • Those who want to know the card price in advance, since the tariffs are published.
  • Not for those who want to open an account without traveling or who need a Mir card.

Frequently asked questions

Can a Russian get a card from Asia Alliance Bank without visiting the bank?

No. The non-resident leaflet requires documents to be presented in person. The exception applies only to additional accounts: if you already have an account with the bank, you can open more remotely, under a Central Bank rule in force since 12 November 2025.

How much does a non-resident card cost?

Under the tariffs in force since 10 March 2026, issuing the main card costs UZS 200,000 including VAT. Maintenance of Classic, Gold and Platinum is free, Signature costs USD 35 a year, and Infinite and World Elite cost USD 50 each.

What is a security deposit?

It is an amount on the account that the bank blocks for as long as the card is valid. It is USD or EUR 10 for Classic, Gold and Standard, USD 20 for Platinum, and USD 50, 150 and 50 for Signature, Infinite and World Elite respectively.

Do I need to have lived in the country for 15 days to open an account?

In September 2022 the bank introduced such a condition: a stay of more than 15 days, or university study or official work. The current leaflet does not state a period, so ask by phone or at a branch before you visit.

Does the bank offer a UnionPay card?

The bank issues the Uzcard-UnionPay card in soums. It can be used wherever UnionPay is accepted, but the account is in soums and purchases abroad are converted at the bank's rate.