In short: Suits non-residents who live in Tashkent or can travel to the capital, and those who already have a PINFL. The main limits are opening only at the head office and the mandatory PINFL.
Terms for non-residents
- Non-residents
- Limited
- Remote account opening
- No
- Visa / Mastercard
- Yes
- Russian-language support
- Yes
- Owner
- Private bank; shareholders include the Asian Development Bank, Germany's DEG and Triodos Investment Management
- Founded
- 1990
- License
- Central Bank of Uzbekistan license No. 10 (edition of 25 December 2021)
- Where non-residents open accounts
- Only at the head office in Tashkent (rule since 12 September 2022)
- Head office
- Tashkent, 2 A. Kadyri Street
- Ratings, per the bank
- Moody's Ba3, Fitch B
- 24-hour support
- 1296 or +998 78 140 69 00
- Net profit, H1 2026
- UZS 480.4 billion
- App
- Ipak Yuli Mobile (iOS, Android) and internet bank e-bank.ipakyulibank.uz
Pros
- One of the oldest private banks: 17 branches and more than 2 million customers, according to the bank
- International shareholders include the Asian Development Bank, DEG and Triodos
- Website in Russian and 24-hour support
- Long experience working with foreign customers
Cons and limits
- Accounts and cards for non-residents are opened only at the head office in Tashkent
- Russians are asked to provide a PINFL; without it, restrictions on topping up the account apply
- A non-resident cannot open the first account remotely
- According to reviews, non-residents who apply on their own are sometimes refused
## About the bank
Ipak Yuli was founded in 1990 and operates under Central Bank license No. 10. Its shareholders include the Asian Development Bank (since 2013), Germany's DEG and Triodos Investment Management. Triodos invested about USD 25 million in 2020, and holdings were updated in 2022. The full ownership structure is not disclosed on the website. According to the bank, it has 17 branches and more than 2 million customers, with ratings of Moody's Ba3 and Fitch B. Its net profit for the first half of 2026 was UZS 480.4 billion, and it ranked eighth among large banks in the CERR rating for Q2 2026.
## Account for non-residents
Since 12 September 2022 the bank has opened accounts and cards for non-residents only at the head office in Tashkent. You need a passport, a PINFL (personal identification number), proof of registration in Uzbekistan and a non-resident questionnaire. Since February 2024 the bank has asked Russians for a PINFL. Without it, restrictions on topping up the account apply, while card payments, withdrawals at other banks' ATMs and card-to-card transfers worked. A PINFL takes 2 to 4 working days with a temporary registration.
The first account cannot be opened remotely. Reviews from 2026 report that non-residents who apply on their own are sometimes refused, so prepare a full set of documents and check the rules in advance.
## Cards and payments
Among international cards, the Russian-language site describes Mastercard World Elite, a premium foreign-currency card. Soum cards include Woman Card, with free issuance and partner discounts, and a credit card with a limit of up to UZS 100 million according to the site. The bank does not publish credit card terms for non-residents. Mir does not work, and the bank does not state SBP (Faster Payments System) or UnionPay options. The Ipak Yuli Mobile app requires an Uzbek phone number, because since 22 April 2026 banking apps match the number against the cardholder's PINFL.
## Who it suits
- Those who live in Tashkent or can travel there and already have a registration and a PINFL.
- Customers who value international shareholders and the bank's long history.
- Not for those in the regions who do not want to travel to the capital, or who need an account without a visit.
Current tariffs are published on the bank's website, but data on non-resident card prices is fragmentary, so check them at the head office.
Frequently asked questions
Where does Ipak Yuli open accounts for non-residents?
Since 12 September 2022 the bank has handled account and card opening for non-residents through an operations unit at the head office in Tashkent. Customers who opened accounts earlier were not affected.
Do Russians need a PINFL?
Yes. Since February 2024 the bank has asked Russian customers for a PINFL. Without it, restrictions on topping up the account apply, but card payments, withdrawals at other banks' ATMs and card-to-card transfers continue to work.
How long does a PINFL take?
Usually 2 to 4 working days with a temporary registration. The number is issued by public service centers and migration departments of the Interior Ministry.
Can a non-resident open an account remotely?
Not the first account; the bank's website offers no such option. If you already have an account, additional accounts can be opened remotely under a Central Bank rule in force since 12 November 2025.
Does Mir work at Ipak Yuli?
No. Mir cards have not been served in Uzbekistan since September 2022. A Russian phone number also cannot be linked to the banking app: since April 2026 an Uzbek number in your name is required.